CRP Blog

Friday, June 6, 2008

Republican Women Win Party Backing

The Republican farm team system is working.

Across the state, we're seeing an increasingly diverse array of solid Republican candidates move up through local government and leadership positions to carry our party banner into the November election.

As our party increases its focus on electing Republicans to local offices, we benefit from building the farm team of candidates from many different backgrounds who have gained the campaign and government experience necessary to win higher office and further build our party.

Here are just a few of the women leaders with local government experience our party has nominated for state office this year:

Councilmember and former Dana Point Mayor Diane Harkey is headed for the Assembly in the 73rd district, succeeding Mimi Walters who will become the new Senator in the 33rd district.

Tulare County Supervisor Connie Conway won the Republican nomination in the 34th Assembly district and will become the new Assemblymember in this reliably Republican region.

Former Palos Verdes Peninsula Unified school board member Gabirella Holt is the Republican nominee in the very competitive 54th Assembly District in Los Angeles County.

Winnetka Neighborhood Council Member Armineh Chelebian will carry the party banner as the Republican nominee for Assembly in the 40th district in Los Angeles County.

Meanwhile, as Assemblymembers Shirley Horton and Bonnie Garcia are leaving the Assembly due to term limits, I'm confident one of them will return to Sacramento in two years are the new Republican State Senator in the 40th district.

Republican Women Nominated for State Legislature and Congress in 2008
Doris Lynn Gentry (A-7)
Elizabeth Hansen (A-11)
Conchita Applegate (A-12)
Harmeet Dhillon (A-13)
Catherine Brinkman (A-19)
Annalisa Yenne (A-21)
Jean Fuller (A-32, incumbent)
Connie Conway (A-34)
Audra Strickland (A-37, incumbent)
Armineh Chelebian (A-40)
Jane Barnett (A-43)
Lady Cage-Barile (A-47)
Esthela Torres Siegrist (A-49)
Gwen Patrick (A-52)
Gabriella Holt (A-54)
Wendy Maier (A-61)
Diane Harkey (A-73)
Sashi McEntee (S-3)
Claudia Bermudez (S-9)
Lydia Guitierrez (S-25)
Mimi Walters (S-33)
Dana Walsh (H-8)
Joyce Stoer Cordi (H-15)
Charel Winston (H-16)
Diane Lenning (H-39)
Mary Bono Mack (H-45, incumbent)
Rosemarie Avila (H-47)

Congratulations to all of our Republican nominees!

Social Networks:
Facebook Twitter YouTube
Contact Us  |  |  Site Map  |  Credits © Copyright 2010, California Republican Party.
Paid for by the California Republican Party. Not authorized by any candidate or candidate committee.